Review: Menturm Sun Bears Strong Super Plus

This sunscreen was launched in 2014 and is a combination (physical and chemical) sunscreen. It’s available locally to those living in Melbourne and Sydney, but I’m not too sure about the other states because I’m unsure of the shops there. Japanese sunscreens often re-package their sunscreens yearly so you know when it was made. Below are photographs of the 2015 version.

Price: 
It cost ms $10.80 in store, but it’s available from Rakuten for $2.50 for 30ml

Sun bears

Sun Bears

Sun bears

It was so runny it was falling off my hand! I had to take this photo with a new application 4 times

Sun bears

Slightly rubbed in

Sun bears

Fully rubbed in

How it feels:

It was very very watery and runny. It felt like I was just pouring water on my hand it was so light. It immediately sank into my skin, dried matte and didn’t leave a white cast at all. It felt like I wasn’t even wearing any sunscreen. However, I have very dry skin and it was a little drying despite there being no alcohol.

Overall Impression: 

I think this sunscreen is a little too drying for me but would be perfect if you apply moisturiser beforehand or have normal-oily skin (I just have very very dry skin – especially in winter). I like that it doesn’t contain alcohol (not that I’m against it in products, I just personally can’t use it) and it’s maximum protection. I wish that the packaging was bigger but it’s very cheap so that’s not really a problem. I am going to start talking about ingredients in products so people know what they’re putting onto their skin. I have listed the top ingredients and what they do below:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone -These ingredients are silicones. They’re responsible for making the product on your skin feel ‘silky’. There are some sources that say silicone suffocates the skin, but that’s impossible because of it’s molecular structure.

Cetyl Ethylhexanoate – This is responsible for giving your skin a soft and smooth look. It works as an emollient.

Dipropylene glycol – A penetration enhancer (helps the product ‘sink’ into your skin)

Glycyrrhetinic acid – a liquorice extract that is supposed to have anti-inflammatory properties

Polyglyceryl-3-Diisostearate – This is my only concerning ingredient.  It’s not known to be unsafe at all, but it has a 4/5 comedogenic rating, meaning that it MAY be more likely to break you out. I haven’t used it on my face long enough to say yet but I will update this if it does. It is used as an emulsifier.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this product. It’s cheap, has very high protection and is easily available.

Ingredients: 

See cosdna 

Links: 

http://www.paulaschoice.com/cosmetic-ingredient-dictionary/definition/silicones/silicone
https://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/polyglyceryl-3-diisostearate
http://www.cosmeticsinfo.org/ingredient/glycyrrhetinic-acid
http://www.paulaschoice.com/cosmetic-ingredient-dictionary/definition/dipropylene-glycol
https://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/cetyl-ethylhexanoate
http://www.paulaschoice.com/cosmetic-ingredient-dictionary/definition/silicone

Leave a Reply

