Review: Innisfree Eco Natural Green Tea BB Cream

I don’t use makeup very often, so my makeup reviews are infrequent. But I have been using this for a couple of months now and am ready to write a review! BB creams became quite popular in the Western market a couple of years ago, but were originally invented by Dr. Christine Schrammek in the 60’s to protect her patients skin after surgery.  I was pretty excited when I first heard of them because most foundations I had tried tended to break me out.

Many of the western BB creams are no more than a tinted moisturiser, as they tend to lack all the properties than BB creams contain in Asia. This is from Korean based brand Innisfree. It doesn’t seem as popular as many of the BB creams (such as ones by Missha and Skin79), but I thought I would give it a go because it’s formulated for dry skin and uses all natural ingredients. I’m open to a lot of ingredients and don’t follow the ‘natural skincare’ routine, but many people do and it’s nice to come across a great product that uses only natural ingredients. It is free from animal ingredients, talc and colorants.

Price:

$23.83AUD from Innisfree World  _DSC0890

It is SPF29+ PA++, but I tend to ignore the sun protection label in cosmetics as you never apply enough to your face (1/4 tsp) to get the full protection. I still use a sunscreen underneath.

_DSC0891 _DSC0893

It unfortunately only comes in 2 colours, this one is #2. I think it is a little dark for my face and the wrong undertone, I will have to try #1 next time!

_DSC0897

How it feels: 

It has a dewey finish and moisturises the skin very well. It feels very heavy when first applied, but feels very light once it’s on my skin. It goes on very smoothly and has an even finish.

Overall Impression: 

I think I chose the wrong tone for my skin (I had to order it online), but I love the product. Besides the lack of colour selection, it works well on my skin and has a flawless finish. It has some beneficial and moisturising  ingredients such as coconut oil (emollient properties), green tea (anti-ageing, antioxidants, anti-immflamatory and anti-carcinogenic) and rice powder (anti-inflammatory). It can be either light-medium coverage depending on how much you layer it. Below is a photo of my face after applying it with my finger tips. There is no powder or any other products on my face (notice how it’s a little dark for me).

11137145_1574363969506633_6522669664151104999_n

I think this a great product for those wanting to try a natural ingredient BB cream or those with sensitive skin that are worried about trying other products. It’s probably suited more towards those with dry skin, but it is marketed towards all skin types.

My only warning would be that if you DO break out from coconut oil, then perhaps give this a miss. However, I break out from straight coconut oil on my skin and this hasn’t broken me out at all.

Ingredients: 

See Innisfreeworld

Leave a Reply

