Review: Antipodes Apostle Skin Brightening & Tone Correcting Serum

I’ve been using this for over 2 weeks now and am pretty excited to write a review on it!

Antipodes in a New Zealand based company that focuses on the science of skincare. They also advocate natural and organic ingredients in all of their products and ensure that products are safe to use on the skin.

This serum is a water based serum and is design to treat hyperpigmentation and restore skin tone.

Price:
$59 AUD

_DSC0863

The product comes in a 30ml package that expires 6 months after opening.

_DSC0869

All of the ingredients are listed on the back of the packaging.

_DSC0870

How it feels: 

I LOVE the smell of this. It’s very fresh and fruity but not overpowering at all. It goes on silky and sinks into the skin really quickly. I was reading other reviews before trying this myself and many of them said that they had to use a moisturiser afterwards because this wasn’t very moisturising. However, I don’t think this is supposed to be a moisturising serum, as it contains exfoliating ingredients. I still think it’s very important to use a moisturiser afterwards.

Overall Impression:

I’d like to say that when I first opened this product it was more of a brown colour than a reddish colour I’ve seen online. I emailed the company to see to see if this was normal and still safe to use and they assured me it was. They’re response stated “As nature is constantly in flux, you may notice minor changes to products between batches. These are caused by seasonal and other fluctuations in our raw ingredients, so you can take these variations as a positive sign of our commitment to using only pure, non-refined ingredients!” So if you have a slightly different colour than my photos or other photos, then don’t worry!

I’ve only been using this for a couple of weeks so I can’t comment on the lightening of hyperpigmentation (since that would probably take a lot longer). But I do feel an overall smoothness in my skin already. This isn’t usually a serum I would usually buy at the store, I got it free from a local store promotion. I think the price tag is what put me off, being a student and all. However, I definitely do really like it so far and would consider buying it again if it continues to lighten hyperpigmentation too!

There are some very beneficial ingredients in this serum including:

Aloe Vera: Anti-immflamatory properties that also help to reduce any redness on the skin.

Gluconolactone: An exfoliant that may be safer to use than an AHA and BHA. Also helps to protect against UV radiation damage as well as improve the appearance of fine lines, hyper pigmentation, pore size and wrinkles.

Vitis vinifera: Also known as grape seed extract. Really great antioxidant properties and help to reduce free radical damage and any photo-ageing.

I like the ingredients of this serum and the values that Antipodes stand for – natural and organic ingredients and science based skincare. I think it’s important to know what you’re putting onto your skin and this brand is very straightforward with what they put into their products. Note: I am NOT against ‘synthetic’ ingredients either, I think it’s just great to find great products that utilise all natural ingredients.

I will update this post in a few months with information on whether it has lightened hyperpigmentation or evened out skin tone.

Ingredients: 

See cosdna 

Leave a Reply

