Review: Avène Thermal Spring Water

Avène is a French brand that is dedicated to the treatment of sensitive skin. This includes those that are intolerant or allergic to many products. According to their website, every product contains Avène Thermal Spring Water. This is supposed to be soothing, anti-irritating and anti-free radical. 

Today I’m reviewing the Thermal Spring Water Spray, designed to soothe and calm the skin.

Price:
$10 for 50ml or $26 for 300ml

_DSC1197_web

It comes in a handy bottle that’s easy to store in your bag.

_DSC1200

The directions tell you to spray it onto your face while avoiding your eyes.

_DSC1201

How it feels: 

I think it feels very refreshing and does seem to soothe my skin when it’s feeling hot. I don’t like to spray directly onto my face so I spray into the air and move my face into it. After using it for several weeks now, it hasn’t caused any damage to my skin.

Overall Impression: 

To me, it kind of just seems like water in a can. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s super refreshing and feel as though it would be fantastic in summer. But I’m not sure I’m willing to pay $10 for a spray bottle of water. I do think it has benefits though, such as spraying it onto your skin before moisturising to add moisture. Or even using it on your makeup brushes to give them a little moisture. In fact, it would be a great product if you don’t have access to clean water (such as camping or travelling). I could also see the benefit of using it on long plane rides to freshen your skin up.

I think it’s important to not let the water sit on your face and evaporate, because that could dry it out. But applying a moisturiser on top could be very beneficial. All in all, I can definitely see the potential uses for this but I wouldn’t use it as an every day product. It would be great for the Australian summer or while traveling without access to water. It’s clean and sterile water so you know it will be safe for your skin.

Ingredients:

Water, nitrogen

4 thoughts on “Review: Avène Thermal Spring Water

  1. adamchats says:

    I picked one up today and give it a quick go. The directions say to pat your skin dry after 2 to 3 minutes. Maybe my skin is super dehydrated, because after about 30 seconds it had already dried. Perhaps I didn’t use enough? I did notice my irritation spots from shaving didn’t seem as red.

    Like

Leave a Reply

