My winter skincare routine

This is my last post before I start university again tomorrow! I graduated from my first degree last year and am starting a new one now, so I’m unsure of the workload. However, I aim to have 1-2 posts per week 🙂 Wish me luck!

skin_indoors_outdoors

Here is an all-bearing photo of my current skin (click on it to see it larger). The photo on the left is taken indoors and the photo on the right is taken in the scary light of the outside world. I’m not wearing makeup in either photo except for some pawpaw lip balm and it was taken at 4pm after getting off from work.

I have extremely dry and acne prone skin so winter is my worst nightmare. The drier my skin, the more I tend to break out, so it’s essential I load up on moisture. It doesn’t help that I use a retinoid, which dried my skin out like crazy. I use a weird hybrid mix of Asian and Western products, some of which I have reviewed on here. I have provided a link to my review of the ones I have already written about.

dsc0247

Here is a breakdown of my routine: Morning:

Night

Beneficial ingredients

I try to look out for beneficial ingredients for my skin. Here is a list of some of them in my products:

Ceramides: These are found in The Face Shop Rice Ceramide Moisture cream. I reviewed this cream here. Ceramides have been shown to improve the skin barrier and provide moisture, aiding in preventing wrinkles. They are actually already in our skin and make up for 50% of our skins natural protective barrier.

Green Tea: Green tea has active ingredients that are proven to posses anti-ageing, antioxidants, anti-immflamatory and anti-carcinogenic properties. Green tea is found in both of my Innisfree products .

Vitamin C: I have written about Vitamin C in my previous post about anti-ageing. It has been proven to prevent changes associated with photo ageing, such as hyper pigmentation and dark discolouration.  Studies have shown that it can help to significantly improve the appearance of wrinkles. It is also very high in antioxidants and can aid with shielding skin from damage from free radicles. I use this under and around my eyes.

Others include: Collagen, Hyaluronic Acid and Niacinamide

Skincare tips I always follow: 

  • I wear a sunscreen every day, even in winter. It has helped lighten my hyperpigmentation and scarring while also protecting me against skin cancer
  • I sleep on a silk pillowcase at night. I personally find that it pulls less on my skin like other pillowcases and I wake up with a plump face
  • I try not to touch my face

Call out for help:

I’m looking for a new lotion or emulsion! My Innisfree Green Tea one is running out and it’s getting harder to buy locally, so I figured I could try a couple of new ones. So if you have any suggestions please let me know 🙂

7 thoughts on “My winter skincare routine

  1. Hudda. says:

    My skin breaks out in the winters too, it gets really dry and prone to acne. I’m using a 3:1 mixture of neem oil and Almond oil. the neem oil is anti bacterial and prevents acne and cures the acne. and also moisturizes my skin. and the almond oil removes pigmentation and lightens acne scars and moisturizes the skin really well. I use 4-5 drops on my clean skin at night and massage gently. and I wake up with a dewy complexion :’) ❤

    love your post x will definitely try some of these products.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

