Review: Sunkiller Perfect Strong Moisture SPF50+ PA++++

I was on the lookout for a new sunscreen and came across Sunkiller Perfect Strong Moisture, which was made this year (2015). Unfortunately I couldn’t find many reviews of it online because it’s quite new so I gave it a chance and bought it anyway. There is also a popular sunscreen called Sunkiller Perfect Strong Plus in a gold bottle, but this is the moisture version.

What drew my eye to it was the fact that it was a PA++++ sunscreen without alcohol. This is quite rare so I was super excited to also read that it had moisturising properties. Given that I’m currently living in the winter cold I needed as much hydration for my skin as I could get.

Where to buy? 

I was super impatient so I bought it fro Yesstyle for $16AUD. However, it is also available from Sasa for $10AUD and Rakuten Global for ~$6AUD.

_DSC1320

It comes in a 30ml bottle which is a little bit small for my liking but it still worked out to be cheaper than my current sunscreen so I didn’t mind too much.
_DSC1324

This is a chemical sunscreen with no physical UV blockers. It uses Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, Octocrylene and Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate (Uvinul A Plus). Chemical sunscreens work by either absorbing or reflecting/scattering the UV rays when they hit the skin.

_DSC1338

It’s quite creamy and runny in texture, not thick like the physical sunscreens I am used to using.

_DSC1336

How it feels: 

It’s very moisturising when rubbed in to the skin and it tends to stay a little shiny for the first 10 minutes. There is no distinct smell and it kind of feels like you are rubbing a slightly greasy moisturiser into your skin. However, it doesn’t stay greasy for long and it quickly absorbs.

Overall Impression: 

Honestly I was a little hesitant to try this because I usually primary use physical sunscreens due to sensitive skin. However, I love this sunscreen. It’s very moisturising and it doesn’t leave a white cast at all. Some of my favourite things about it:

  • Resistant to water, sebum and sweat
  • Not sticky or greasy
  • Very moisturising

It contains beneficial ingredients such as –

Sodium hyaluronate: This comes from hyaluronic acid. According to Paula’s Choice, who sources Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, July 2014, pages 177–184, it is able to prevent moisture loss as well as having cell communicating abilities. This could even help prevent the appearance of wrinkles.

Fucus Vesiculosus Extract: Research has shown that it can help improve skin elasticity and also has anti-aging properties. It is also an antioxidant.

I personally love this sunscreen and may even replace my current one with it. I’m so happy to have found a sunscreen that works for my skin and is also cosmetically elegant, as well as being high protection.

Ingredients: 

See cosdna

Leave a Reply

