Review: Moogoo Edible Lip Balm – Tingling Honey Lips

MooGoo are an Australian company focusing on providing gentle products for sensitive skin. They pride themselves in using natural ingredients and are sure to disclose every ingredient on their website along with a description. I’m a big fan of them because I have quite sensitive skin that reacts to a lot of ingredients.

Where to buy? 

Moogoo lists stockists on their website, for both Australian and overseas stores. I bought it for $5 at a local store.

_DSC1505

The idea behind this lip balm is that anything that goes onto your lips should be edible, so they use only ingredients safe to consume. This particular one is said to have a ‘tingling’ feeling, supposedly from the menthol.

_DSC1510

The Tingling Honey Lips balm is designed for dry and sun damaged lips, aimed to repair and moisturise. I don’t have sun damaged lips but my lips have been incredibly dry throughout the winter so I figured I would give this a go.

_DSC1513

How it feels: 

This definitely made my lips tingle, I really like it. It almost gives a really cold sensation? I bought one for my mother too and she wasn’t a huge fan of the tingling, so be sure to keep that in mind if you plan to buy it. It is also very moisturising and after a few uses my lips are very smooth. It also has a lemon-y kind of taste.

Overall Impression: 

I think this product is well formulated and I will continue to buy it. As usual, some of my favourite ingredients are:

Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil: According to FutureDerm, who quote Joshua Zeichner, M.D, jojoba oil can help to retain the moisture in the skin. Along with this, it also helps the skin repair itself.

Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil: Very moisturising and is a great emollient for the lips

Honey: Antibacterial properties as well as being moisturising

Some other great ingredients: sweet almond oil, castor oil and allantoin

I do admit I’m a little obsessed with the tingling feeling of this lip balm, but it has also truly been moisturising. I think I will definitely repurchase or at least try some of their other edible lip balms. This is a great buy for winter and at such a cheap price I can’t complain at all.

Leave a Reply

