Review: O Cosmedics Mineral Pro SPF30+ Triple Defense Protection

It’s rare that I review Australian sunscreens due to the difficulty of finding something non-greasy and cosmetically elegant. Winter is finally over here in Australia and not everybody has access to amazing sunscreens from overseas, so I thought I would review something a little closer to home.

I will be talking about this sunscreen from O Cosmedics, which is a physical (or mineral) Australian sunscreen. Physical sunscreens are fantastic for those that don’t particular react will with regular (chemical) sunscreen. Because this only uses zinc oxide as it’s main UV blocker, it could be very beneficial for those with acne or irritated skin.

_DSC2395

O Cosmedics are an Australian owned and made brand that focus on the science behind skincare. They produce products known as ‘cosmeceuticals’, which are basically pharmaceuticals and cosmetics combined.

_DSC2400

This comes in clear or tinted. I do admit that this costs a little more than I am used to paying for sunscreen. But I feel like it’s super important in Australia to ensure proper protection from the harsh sun. Unfortunately sunscreen has a horrible reputation of being sticky and greasy, so I don’t mind paying a little extra to wear something comfortably.

_DSC2402

My hands are a little dry so it hasn’t rubbed in as nicely as my face. However, it still sinks in after a minute or so.

_DSC2403

Price:

$45AUD for 75ml

Texture:

This is quite creamy, like many physical sunscreens. Although it does leave a very very  slight white cast (again, like many physical sunscreens), it’s barely noticeable and very moisturising. It dries almost matte, while slightly silky, and has a beautiful finish.

Ingredients I like: 

Sunscreens in Australia unfortunately aren’t required by law at this stage to list all of the ingredients in SPF products. While I do find this a little odd, O Cosmedics often promotes the science behind their skincare which gives me confidence. In saying that, there are a few great ingredients listed.

Resveratrol: An antioxidant found in red grapes. It has amazing anti-immflammatory properties as well as many other really beneficial properties which can be read on Paula’s Choice who sum it up well.

Palmitoyl Oligopeptide: Research, although not conclusive, states that it may help to stimulate collagen production.

Overall Impression: 

I think that it’s quite difficult to find local physical sunscreens, let alone one that doesn’t leave your face super greasy or white. This rubs in extremely well, looks cosmetically elegant and smells like toffee and vanilla. It’s very lightweight and I don’t feel like I’m wearing anything when I use it throughout the day. Because it’s a physical sunscreen, it would be especially great for those that break out from sunscreen. Given that zinc is the only UV blocker it could potentially be very beneficial.

Repurchase? 

Yes yes 100% yes. I really love this sunscreen and I’m so glad to have found a local sunscreen that isn’t greasy or heavy AND physical!

2 thoughts on “Review: O Cosmedics Mineral Pro SPF30+ Triple Defense Protection

Leave a Reply

