Review: Mecca To Save Face Superscreen SPF50+

Things are really heating up in Australia so I’ve been on the search for an every day heavy duty sunscreen. I had heard great reviews about the SPF30+ version of this sunscreen, but I wanted to try out the 50+.

In Australia, unlike a couple of other countries, SPF takes into consideration the UVA protection as well. So if you get a high SPF, you can be sure you are also getting adequate UVA protection as well.

Remember, UVA rays can cause skin cancer and premature ageing.

_DSC3772

Mecca is an Australian brand. I like to think of it as the Australian Sephora (except for the fact that Sephora just recently opened here!). They stock other brands as well as having their own.

_DSC3773

_DSC3781_DSC3782_DSC3783

Price:

$40AUD for 75mL

Texture:

It’s very creamy. However, it’s not too thick or greasy and rubs in really easily.

Ingredients I like: 

  • Hyaluronic acid: Super moisturising and prevents water loss. It can keep skin tone even and smooth
  • Pomegranate extract: Has antioxidant properties. This can help reduce inflammation as well as improve the appearance of wrinkled skin.

Overall Impression: 

Pros: 

  • Cruelty free
  • It has a beautiful finish that isn’t greasy nor too matte
  • It doesn’t make me break out
  • No white cast
  • Lightweight
  • Super high protection!

Cons: 

  • At first it does feel a little thick to rub in, but that disappears quickly

Repurchase? 

Absolutely! I have been using this sunscreen every day for the past couple of weeks. It is quite difficult to find a high protection sunscreen in Australia that is also cosmetically elegant. Fortunately this Mecca sunscreen fits everything I need!

7 thoughts on “Review: Mecca To Save Face Superscreen SPF50+

  1. aamidiy says:

    Hello! I am very interested to see what your blog has in store. I have been searching for a new moisturizer with SPF. Do you know if any of the active ingredients can cause a reactions? It would be great if we can support each other! Best, Aami 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • oliveaolive says:

      Hey there! I’m really sorry but I haven’t really tried any moisturisers with SPF except for the Paula’s Choice ones. However, I did LOVE the RESIST moisturiser by Paula’s Choice, would highly recommend it for dry skin 🙂

      Like

    • oliveaolive says:

      Hey there! I’m really sorry but I haven’t really tried any moisturisers with SPF except for the Paula’s Choice ones.
      However, I did LOVE the RESIST moisturiser by Paula’s Choice, would highly recommend it for dry skin 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

